Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Today is the fourth day I have gone with limited internet exposure and without my smartphone.  I am feeling great.  Thus far I recognize my ability to better:

  • Focus time with my son (I have noticed a lot more about his habits and where I play into them).  We have enjoyed cartoons, T-ball and daily bike rides.
  • My studies are more intense and now that I am solely concentrating on one thing at at time, the computer material seems to be better penetrating my numbskull.
  • I find myself with more time in the day and rather than feeling it with technological crack, I have more time to help my spouse around the house and take care of the yard.
  • The worries of the world are beginning to leave me.  The latest scandal on the web has no time in my life, It’s their problem.

Granted focusing and obsession could just be my problem but dealing with it in a new way is helping.

For example, yesterday me and my family went to grab a Jamba Juice.  In this particular shopping center there is a court yard outside the parking lot where you can stroll and shop around.  The three of us strolled into sleep number, where there is an intensive plethora of knowledge and computer generated statistics for mattresses.  Who knew? Usually I would of been wrapped in my phone, the reading of my pressure points, listening to the sales associate, all while telling our youngster to quit jumping on the 5900 dollar bed next to us.  But since my fiance was indulged into the concept of these beds, I decided to take one for the team and ensure he was acting civilly.

What I really found out was, he wanted to participate and enjoy the beds like us.  When we ignored his participation in order to listen to the sales associate, he began to act out in order to get attention from us.  He was craving attention even if it was negative.  So I decided to become his sales associate, showing him how to operate a sleep number mattress and trying to get him to fork out 5900 dollars.  He enjoyed it and was relatively calm for the rest of our time.   Who knew?

